The Walking Dead, Gladiator Games, and Roman Empire Politics

SPOILER ALERT!  Don’t read further if you have not seen at least to the mid-season break of the current Walking Dead season!

I have been dying to find a link between The Walking Dead and the classical world for some time now and this season the creators of the show decided to just lob in a softball for me. In this season with the addition of The Governor of Woodbury, there have been some awesome twists and a couple of potential references to the Classics, but none more obvious than the arena fighting. Depending on the way things turn out I may come back to this season to discuss some similarities to Roman Empire politics, but that will have to wait. For now let’s jump into The Walking Dead’s version of the Colosseum. First some Colosseum facts, this is not Coliseum the punk rock band (I don’t know of them, but MS Word tells me this is the correct spelling, I say it is the rock spelling not the amphitheater spelling, and Colosseum gets an underline even though I know it’s correct, bizarre).  The COLOSSEUM was built in 72AD under the emperor Vespasian and was finished in 80AD. Some scholars say, and I believe it is commonly accepted now, that it was built by four different “architecture firms” and that is why parts are deteriorating at different rates. It is also known as the Flavian Amphitheater in case the whole Colosseum and Coliseum debate bothers you.

The important part of the Colosseum, for this posts purposes, is that gladiatorial games took place there as well as in many smaller amphitheaters throughout Italy. In the most recent season of The Walking Dead, The Governor decided that similar bloodshed was a great way to entertain the people of Woodbury. In Rome the gladiators were often slaves, criminals, or (as seen in the famous Russel Crowe movie) prisoners of war. The Governor makes a similar decision when he places Daryl and Merle in the ring against each other. I think we can call Daryl a prisoner of war now that a true war has broken out between the prison and Woodbury.

The parallels between Woodbury and Ancient Rome after the fall of the republic are quite striking. The people are living in a time of great fear and panic in both situations. A “great” ruler leads them into a peaceful time and earns the respect of the people he governs. Both hold over his people the power of life and death (we’ve seen this a handful of times with the governor). The governor like some emperors of Rome decided the best way to please the people was to hold these bloodbaths. He does add an interesting component by placing the walkers (zombies) in the arena although since the walkers are often seen as animalistic and not human I would say this compares to putting lions and other animals in the Colosseum.  After the scene of the arena style fighting in The Walking Dead it is revealed that the winner of fights was often predetermined. This was known to occur in Ancient Rome as well.  The arena fighting in this show was clearly meant to evoke the gladiatorial games.

During the decline of the Roman Empire Juvenal wrote that the Roman people only wanted two things, “Panem et circenses” or “bread and circuses.” He actually says, “The common people-rather than caring about their freedom-are only interested in bread and circuses” (Satire 10.81). This is also true of the people of Woodbury. They will follow their leader as long as he provides them with the comforts of home, food and entertainment. It is incredible that we continue to show the same scenes of what happens in times of great instability, but in most cases people are put in power who take advantage of that situation. We shall see how The Walking Dead turns out, but I think The Governor is just a serial killer, psychopath who had enough charm and guns to make people follow him. Charm and an Army got Julius Caesar pretty far, and even put his (adopted) son in power for years after his assassination.

Juvenal Book IV Satire X ll 78-81:

nam qui dabat olim
imperium fasces legiones omnia, nunc se
continet atque duas tantum res anxius optat,
panem et circenses

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

11 thoughts on “The Walking Dead, Gladiator Games, and Roman Empire Politics

  1. 上海外教 says:

    Having read this I believed it was rather informative.

    I appreciate you taking the time and energy to put this
    information together. I once again find myself spending way too
    much time both reading and leaving comments. But so what, it was
    still worthwhile!

  2. My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different web
    page and thought I should check things out.

    I like what I see so now i’m following you. Look forward to going over your web page yet again.

  3. This is really interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I have joined your feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post.
    Also, I’ve shared your website in my social networks!

  4. Hello There. I found your blog using msn.
    This is a very well written article. I will make sure to bookmark
    it and come back to read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.

  5. Pretty great post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I’ve really loved surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing in your feed and I’m hoping you write once more very soon!

  6. I went over this internet site and I believe you have a lot of superb information, saved to my bookmarks (:.

  7. Anonymous says:

    Hi there! Would you mind if I share your blog with my myspace group? There’s a lot of folks that I think would really appreciate your content. Please let me know. Thanks

  8. A powerful reveal, I simply just specified this onto a colleague who was executing a little of evaluation on this. And he in actual fact bought me breakfast being a result of I observed it for him.. smile. So enable me reword that: Thnx to the handle! However yeah Thnkx for spending the time to debate this, I experience strongly about it and really like learning extra on this theme. If doable, as you create into expertise, would you intellect updating your weblog with a lot more particulars? It truly is hugely valuable for me. Big thumb up for this weblog submit!

  9. I’ve been exploring for just a little little bit for any large-top quality articles or weblog posts on this type of region . Exploring in Yahoo I at final stumbled upon this website. Reading through this facts So i’m pleased to convey that I’ve an incredibly excellent uncanny feeling I discovered just what I necessary. I most certainly will make guaranteed to do not neglect this net site and give it a glance using a frequent basis.

  10. Hey, you accustomed to publish brilliant, however the very last numerous posts have been kinda boring… I miss your tremendous writings. Past a number of posts are just a bit out of observe! come on!

  11. I have to say that for the last few of hours i have been hooked by the impressive articles on this site. Keep up the good work.

Leave a Reply

